Consultants honoured at 27th annual BESS Awards

OrthTeam members Chris PeachBarnes Morgan, and Adam Watts have been honoured at the 27th annual British Elbow and Shoulder Society (BESS) Awards. 

Chris was awarded the prestigious inaugural Copeland Fellowship. The Fellowship is offered to one allied health professional and one consultant member. 

Commenting on his fellowship, Chris said "It's a great honour to be awarded such a prestigious fellowship by my peers. It will be a unique opportunity to share techniques we have developed with colleagues in another country as well as learn new concepts from them that we can build upon for the benefit of the patients in the United Kingdom".

Chris will now spend two weeks in South Africa, alongside the British Elbow and Shoulder Society President, Mike Thomas, observing clinical practice and seeing how surgeons operate on trauma and elective surgery across the private and public healthcare systems, and looking at how surgery and physiotherapy can help restore function in the upper limb in groups of patients and formulate ideas for future research (Sheffield Teaching Hospitals).

 Chris Peach (left) receiving the Copeland Fellowship.


Barnes Morgan and Adam Watts were also honoured on the night, winning the Ian Kelly prize for their research paper presenting results of heir randomised controlled trial for Platelet Rich Plasma (PRP) for the treatment of resistant tennis elbow.

Share this post